7 teachers from NE to be awarded National Teachers Award


In a proud moment for the northeast, at least 7 teachers from the region will be awarded the prestigious National Teachers Award 2022.

Of these, 2 teachers from the Himalayan state of Sikkim have also been shortlisted for the prestigious award.

Sidharth Yonzon, Principal of Eklavya Model Residential School or EMRS under the Social Welfare Department of Gangyap of West Sikkim, and Mala Jigdal Dorjee, Principal, Modern Senior Secondary School, Gangtok will be honored with this year’s National Awards to Teachers.

It may be mentioned here that President of India Droupadi Murmu will confer the National Awards to Teachers on September 5 at Vigyan Bhawan in New Delhi, on the occasion of Teachers Day.

The Ministry of Education has been organizing the national level awards on Teachers Day every year to honor the best teachers of the country, selected through a rigorous, transparent, and online three-stage selection process.

Apart from the two teachers from Sikkim, Gamchi Timre R Marak from Meghalaya, Santosh Nath from Tripura, Meenakshi Goswami from Assam, Nongmaithem Gautam Singh from Manipur, and Mimi Yhoshii from Nagaland have also been nominated for the prestigious National Teachers Award 2022.