3rd ODI: India beat Australia by 7 wickets, win series 2-1


India clinched the three-match ODI series against Australia after defeating the hosts by 7 wickets in the third and final one-dayer at Melbourne today (Jan 18). Mahendra Singh Dhoni continued his superb form to register his third consecutive half-century score and guide the Men in Blue to a series victory over the depleated Australian team.

While Dhoni scored an unbeaten 87, Kedar Jadhav displayed superb maturity and grit to ably support the former ‘Captain Cool’ besides stitching a match-winning partnership of 121 runs for the fourth wicket. Jadhav remained unbeaten on 61 as the visitors successfully chased down the 231-run target with four balls to spare. Kohli made 46 runs.

Earlier in the day, a career-best 6-for-42 from Yuzvendra Chahal helped India bundle out the hosts for 230 runs in 48.4 overs after Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bowl first.

Peter Handscomb top scored for the Aussies with 58 runs.

Dhoni was named Player of the Tournament while Chahal won the Player of the Match award.

Brief Scores:

AUS: 230 all out in 48.4 overs. Handscomb 58, Chahal 6/42.

IND: 234/3 in 49.2 overs Dhoni 87*, K Jadhav 61*, Kohli 46.