World Cup 2023 2nd semi-final: South Africa face serial winners Australia with history on their shoulders


South Africa will clash with Australia in the second semifinal match of the International Cricket Council (ICC) World Cup 2023 at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on November 16. 

Two of the oldest cricket-playing countries in the world are Australia and South Africa. As such, they have a long history of playing together and a popular rivalry.

South Africa and Australia have some of the most difficult pitches in the world and have produced great cricketers like Jacques Kallis, Ricky Ponting, Don Bradman and Dale Steyn. Every time, South Africa and Australia face each other, it always results in exciting games.

Australia is considered the most dominant team in cricket history, having won 9 ICC trophies. South Africa has won only 1. Moreover, South Africa is known to crumble under pressure in big games like the playoffs or knockout stage of tournaments.

The ICC ODI World Cup has also witnessed some incredible games between South Africa and Australia. The Proteas emerged as the winners in the latest 2023 World Cup matchup with Australia and are again set to clash in the semi-final on November 16.

But before that, take a look at South Africa and Australia’s head-to-head record in the World Cup and across other cricket formats (Test, ODI and T20).

South Africa and Australia have faced each other 7 times in the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup and have an even record. Australia won 3 games and South Africa won 3 games. 1 match was tied. However, South Africa has the most recent wins, having beaten Australia in the 2019 and 2023 World Cups.

2023South Africa134 runs
2019South Africa10 runs
2007Australia83 runs
2007Australia7 wickets
1999Australia5 wickets
1999Australia/South AfricaTied
1992South Africa9 wickets

*Last Match Result: South Africa won by 134 wickets in the 2023 World Cup.

It remains to be seen how Australia fares against South Africa in the 2023 World Cup. Both teams boast of strong squads. Australia is a favourite to lift the trophy while South Africa will be playing to get rid of the “chokers” tag and reach its first World Cup final. Pat Cummins will lead Australia while Temba Bavuma is the captain of South Africa.