West Bengal assembly polls: TMC ahead in 148 seats, BJP in 116


GUWAHATI: As the counting of votes is underway for the West Bengal elections, the latest trends available at 10:15 am indicated that the Trinamool Congress was marginally ahead of the Bharatiya Janata Party. As per the initial rounds of counting, BJP leader Suvendu Adhikari is leading against Chief Minister and TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee.

Babul Supriyo and Locket Chatterjee are leading from Tollygunge and Chinsura respectively. Meanwhile, actor Yash Gupta was trailing from the Chanditala constituency.

TMC heavyweight Firhad Hakim is leading against BJP’s Awadh Kishore Gupta and CPI(M)-Congress-ISF combine’s Mohammed Mukhtar from Kolkata Port constituency

The Election Commission of India will declare the West Bengal Election Result today. The politically charged state witnessed a high voltage campaign by Mamata Banerjee’s TMC and the resurgent BJP. Though the Left, Congress and Indian Secular Front (ISF) are also in the fray, the West Bengal Assembly Elections are a bipolar contest between the ruling party and the saffron party.

According to the latest trends available at 10:15 am for 270 of the total 292 constituencies which went to polls, the TMC and BJP are engaged in an intense contest with the former leading in 148 Assembly segments, while the BJP ahead in 116.