Voter turnout recorded at 10.14% in initial hours of voting for Assam assembly polls


GUWAHATI: 10.14% voter turnout have been recorded in the initial hours, in the first phase of polling in Assam Assembly elections spread over 47 constituencies on Saturday.

As per figures given by the Election Commission, among the other constituencies, Biswanath recorded voting percentage of 9.53 percent, Bokakhat 12.00 percent, Charaideo 4.00 percent, Dhakuakhana 5.60 percent, Dhemaji 9.10 percent, Nagaon 8.09 percent, Nazira 15.00 percent, Sivasagar 11.62 percent, Sonitpur 11.32 percent, Tinsukia 10.70 percent till 9:30 am.

AGP’s Prodip Hazarika, Angkita Dutta (Congress), Hemanta Kalita (BJP), BhaskarJyoti Baruah (Congress), Ranjit Dutta (BJP), Renupoma Rajkhowa (AGP), Manab Deka (BJP) cast their votes in the early hours today.

Over 81 lakh voters are eligible to exercise their franchise at 11,537 polling stations in this phase.

A total of 264 candidates including 23 women are in the fray for 47 seats.