Uddhav Thackeray to take oath as Maharashtra CM on Dec 1


GUWAHATI, Nov 26: Shiv Sena leader Uddhav Thackeray was today evening chosen as the Chief Minister candidate of the Sena-NCP-Congress coalition, the ‘Maha Vikas Aghadi’, after a resolution proposing his name as the Chief Ministerial candidate and leader of the coalition was passed unanimously by all MLAs.

“Three representatives of the ‘Maha Vikas Aghadi’ will meet the Governor. The swearing-in ceremony will be held at Shivaji Park in Mumbai on Dec 1,” Sharad Pawar stated.

The three-party coalition with Shiv Sena, the second largest party in the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly with 56 MLAs, the NCP (54) and Congress (44) has 154 lawmakers.

Earlier this afternoon, Devendra Fadnavis resigned as Chief Minister after being ordered by the Supreme Court to prove his majority in a floor test tomorrow. Minutes before Fadnavis, Ajit Pawar, who had taken oath as deputy CM on Saturday morning, also stepped down from his post.