Tarun Gogoi gives list of possible candidates for Rajya Sabha


GUWAHATI: As Congress and AIUDF are set to field a common candidate for Rajya Sabha elections in Assam, former chief minister Tarun Gogoi has announced the names of a host of possible candidates.

“Besides insiders from Congress, there are some other people who are willing to become a Rajya Sabha MP,” said Gogoi.

The former chief minister said that Jayanta Baruah, Ajit Kumar Bhuyan and Adip Phukan were willing to be the common candidate of Congress and AIUDF for the third seat.

” A deputation on behalf of Phukan has approached me and informed that he was willing,” said the senior Congress leader.

“Jayanta Baruah didn’t tell me directly; he just wanted to meet me. I know that he has willingness for the seat,” Gogoi added.