Stage set for third phase of polling in Assam


GUWAHATI: Assam is all set to go to the final leg of its three-phased elections for 126-seat Assembly on April 6.

This phase will decide the fate of 337 candidates across 40 constituencies of 12 districts in the state. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Himanta Biswa Sarma is contesting for the Jalukbari constituency which will go to the polls on Tuesday.

Apart from Sarma, BJP Minister Chandra Mohan Patowary from Dharampur, Education Minister Siddhartha Bhattacharya from Gauhati East, and BJP state chief Ranjeet Kumar Dass from Patacharkuchi are also in the fray in the final phase.

Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) candidate Phanibhushan Choudhary from Bongaigaon, Bodoland People’s Front’s (BPF) Pramila Rani Brahma from Kokrajhar-East, Chandan Brahma from Sidli, and independent candidate and Lok Sabha MP Naba Hira Kumar Sarania from Barama will also be facing the test of their luck on Tuesday.

Sitting BJP MLAs Atul Bora and film director and producer Suman Haripriya are in the contest from Dispur and Hajo respectively.

The fate of sitting Congress MLA Rekibuddin Ahmed, former AGP MLA from Chaygaon Kamala Kalita, and Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) working president Pabindra Deka, who is contesting from Pathacharkuchi, will also be decided in this phase.

Kokrajhar’s Lok Sabha MP Naba Kumar Sarania, who is contending from Barama as an Independent candidate, will also see his fortunes meeting its fate.

This year, the main contest is between the alliances led by the BJP and Congress.

The BJP-led alliance includes the AGP and United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL).

The Congress has stitched a broad alliance called the Mahajath, which includes Badruddin Ajmal’s All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF), Communist Party of India, the Communist Party of India (Marxist), the Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) Liberation, the Anchalik Gana Marcha (AGM) and the Bodoland Peoples’ Front (BPF).

Jailed activist Akhil Gogoi’s Raijor Dal has stitched an alliance with Assam Jatiya Parishad.