Sarbananda Sonowal included in PM Modi’s Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs


GUWAHATI: Union minister of ports, shipping and waterways Sarbananda Sonowal is now in the Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs, which is headed by PM Narendra Modi.

Minister for women and child development Smriti Irani and environment and labour minister Bhupender Yadav are also in the same committee on political affairs.

Sonowal, former chief minister of Assam was inducted to the union cabinet last week.

After the cabinet reshuffle, the government made changes in the cabinet committees.

Union ministers Virendra Kumar, Kiren Rijiju and Anurag Thakur are the new members of the Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs, which is headed by defence minister Rajnath Singh.

Ministers Narayan Rane, Jyotiraditya Scindia and Ashwini Vaishnaw are now in the Cabinet Committee on Investment and Growth.

Ashwini Vaishnaw, Bhupender Yadav, RCP Singh and G Kishan Reddy have been included in the Cabinet Committee on Employment and Skill Development.