Rohit Sharma scores brilliant hundred in Chennai Test against England


Guwahati: Rohit Sharma hit a sparkling 100 on the first day of the second test against England at the Chepauk stadium in Chennai. His innings was laced with 14 fours and two sixes. Rohit negotiated all the bowlers with ease as three wickets fell around him. 

Earlier, India reached 106 for three at lunch with Rohit batting on 80 not out. Moeen Ali removed skipper Virat Kohli with a superb delivery during a shared opening session.

At lunch, vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane was batting with Rohit on 5 along with while Rohit.

For England, Moeen (1/32), Olly Stone (1/14) and Jack Leach (1/23) picked up a wicket each.

Mooen struck a huge blow when he got one to dip and turn in sharply as Kohli going for a cover drive was bowled through the gate.

Rohit’s innings was laced with some lovely drives and a six. 

The Mumbai lad has so far scored the bulk of the runs and looked comfortable against pace and spin on a wicket aiding turn already.

He added 85 runs for the second wicket with Pujara (21, 58 balls, 2 fours) and appeared to be steering India to a good position before the spinners struck.

First, Jack Leach (1/23) tossed one up to get Pujara edge one to Ben Stokes at slip before Moeen (1/32 in 6 overs) scalped the prize wicket of Kohli.

The home side, batting first after Kohli won the toss, suffered an early jolt when the pacy Olly Stone, playing his second Test, dismissed Shubman Gill for a duck.

Gill shouldered arms to a delivery that came in and was rapped on the front pad, to give England a great start.

India made three changes to their playing XI with left-arm spin bowling all-rounder Axar Patel making his debut while pacer Jasprit Bumrah was rested.

In-form Mohammed Siraj returned to the playing XI along with left-arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav, who replaced Washington Sundar to play his first game in two years.

For England, Moeen Ali came in place of Dom Bess, Stuart Broad replaced James Anderson while injured Jofra Archer made way for Olly Stone. Ben Foakes replaced Jos Buttler as the wicketkeeper.