Results 2018 | MNF unseats Congress in Mizoram


The Northeast, finally as the BJP says, has become ‘Congress Mukt’ (free from Congress rule) with the Mizo National Front (MNF), a constituent of the Northeast Democratic Alliance (NEDA), unseating the Congress from power. Needing 21 seats to get an absolute majority in the 40-member assembly, the MNF won 26 seats with the Congress relegated to a distant third position with just five seats.

The regional Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) won/leading in seven seats while the BJP opened its account in the hill state that had been the last remaining bastion of the Congress until today’s (Dec 11) results gave MNF the mandate to run the State for the next five years.

The biggest upset for the Congress was Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla who lost from both the seats of Champhai South and Serchhip. While the five-term chief minister lost Champhai South to MNF’s TJ Lalnuntluanga by 1,049 votes, in Serchhip he lost to ZPM candidate Lalduhoma by a margin of just 410 votes.

With the defeat, the Congress’ sun has finally set in the Northeast with all the States run by either BJP or other NEDA constituents.