Rajya Sabha polls: Bhubaneswar Kalita files nomination


GUWAHATI: BJP leader Bhubaneswar Kalita has filed his nominations papers for the Rajya Sabha elections which are scheduled to be held on March 26.

Kalita filed his nominations at Assam Legislative Assembly in the presence of Assam chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal, finance minister Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma, BJP state president Ranjeet Kumar Dass, agriculture minister and Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) president Atul Bora.

“Bhubaneswar Kalita has filed his nominations on behalf of BJP, AGP and BPF. I hope Bhubaneswar Kalita and Biswajit Daimary will win the Rajya Sabha polls. There is no question of BJP contesting the third seat. We are not supporting anyone for the third seat of Rajya Sabha in Assam,” explained minister Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma.

Meanwhile, senior journalist Ajit Kumar Bhuyan has arrived at the assembly to file his nomination papers as a common candidate of Congress and AIUDF. He is being accompanied by former Assam chief minister Tarun Gogoi, AIUDF chief Maulana Badaruddin Ajmal and APCC president Ripun Bora.