Rajya Sabha Poll: Tripura BJP president Manik Saha wins lone seat


Guwahati: Tripura BJP president Manik Saha was elected to the states’ lone Rajya Sabha seat on Thursday.

Manik Saha received 40 votes, while his opponent, CPI(M) candidate Bhanu Lal Saha, received 15.

A member of the ruling BJP-led coalition, an MLA of the Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura (IPFT), did not vote. Four of the 60 seats in the Tripura assembly are now vacant.

Members of the Upper House of Parliament, as MLAs are elected by state legislatures in the Rajya Sabha election. This is a proportional representation election.

“I appreciate the legislators who voted in my favour. In Delhi, I shall emphasise the state’s development issues. In Delhi and Tripura, we have a “double-engine government. I hope that development initiatives are not hampered”, Saha stated.

Saha, a well-known dentist, was named state chief of the BJP in 2020, four years after joining the saffron party, which came to power in 2018.

The BJP’s win in the Rajya Sabha election was virtually assured, the party has 33 members in the 60-member Assembly, compared to the opposition CPM’s 15 MLAs.