Punjab Assembly Elections 2022: Voting for phase 1 underway


Guwahati: The voting for the first phase of the Assembly election in Punjab has begun today at 8 am. Polling is being held on 117 Assembly seats in Punjab today.

Polling for this phase will be concluded at 6 pm. 

4.80 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the first hour of polling in Punjab.

Punjab is witnessing a multi-cornered contest among the Congress, AAP, SAD-BSP, BJP-PLC-SAD (Sanyukt) and the Sanyukt Samaj Morcha, a political front of various farmer bodies.

In Punjab, a total of 1,304 candidates, including 93 women and two transgenders are in the fray. And, over 2.14 crore voters will decide their fate.

Prominent faces who are in the fray in Punjab are Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi, Aam Aadmi Party’s chief ministerial face Bhagwant Mann, Punjab Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu, former Chief Ministers Amarinder Singh and Parkash Singh Badal, and Shiromani Akali Dal president Sukhbir Singh Badal, among others.

Counting of votes will take place on March 10.