PM Modi addresses Bengal on Durga Puja


New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi virtually addressed the people of West Bengal on commencement of Durga Puja on Thursday.

Beginning his virtual address in Bengali after he inaugurated a pandal at Eastern Zonal Cultural Centre in Kolkata, PM Modi addressed the people of Bengal. “It feels like I am in Bengal with you. Blessed to be able to celebrate with you,” PM Modi said.

I feel blessed to be a part of Durga puja celebration on Mahashashti said PM Modi while inaugurating puja organized by Bengal BJP

“We are celebrating Durga Puja in times of Covid-19, all devotees have shown exemplary restrain. The number of people might be less but the grandeur and devotion are the same. The happiness and joy are still boundless. This is the real Bengal,” said PM Modi. 

PM Modi said, “I urge everyone to ensure ‘do gaj ki doori’ and wear masks during celebrations at all times.”

The prime minister on Wednesday had tweeted, “Sisters and brothers of West Bengal, tomorrow, on the auspicious day of Maa Durga Pujo’s Mahashashti, I would join the Divine celebrations via video conferencing and shall also be extending my greetings to everyone. Do join the programme live!”

“Durga Puja is an auspicious occasion, which celebrates the victory of good over evil. We pray to Maa Durga to bless us with strength, happiness and good health,” the PM had added.

BJP sources said arrangements have been made in accordance with the social distancing norms in view of COVID-19 and only 25 party workers and voters in every polling booth will watch the Prime Minister’s address.

“BJP has made arrangements in 78,000 booths, across 294 constituencies in West Bengal for the virtual address of the Prime Minister coinciding with the start of Durga Puja celebrations here,” a party source said.

Assembly elections are likely to be held in West Bengal in the first half of next year and the BJP is keen to come to power by defeating Trinamool Congress (TMC). BJP had secured 18 seats in the Lok Sabha elections in 2019 with Trinamool Congress winning 22.