Phani Bhushan Choudhury wins from Bongaigaon for 8th consecutive term


By Rinkumani Pathak

GUWAHATI: Senior Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) leader and Assam minister Phani Bhushan Choudhury has set a record in the political history of Assam by winning for eight consecutive term from the Bongaigaon constituency.

Choudhury registered a landslide victory against his nearest opponent Congress candidate and former AASU president Sankar Prasad Ray with a margin of 38,277 votes. While Phani Bhushan Choudhury netted 82,800 votes (53.78%), Sankar Prasad Ray managed to get 44,633 votes.

The senior AGP leader has been winning the Bongaigaon seat since 1985. He managed to get 45.15% of total vote share in his maiden election.

In 2016, Choudhury defeated Sankar Prasad Ray with a huge margin of 31,320 votes. While the senior AGP leader amassed 77,292 votes, Ray got 45,972 votes.  

Talking to media persons, Phani Bhushan Choudhury said, “It is not my victory, it is victory of the people of Bongaigaon.”