Patacharkuchi MLA Pabindra Deka resigns from AGP, likely to join AJP


GUWAHATI: Patacharkuchi MLA and former Assam minister Pabindra Deka resigned from the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) on Tuesday.

Deka is one of the founding members of the AGP, an ally of the BJP-led government in Assam. He had also served as a cabinet minister during 1985-1990 in the first AGP government, led by Prafulla Kumar Mahanta.

Asked if he will join another party, Deka said, “I will participate in the 2021 assembly polls, but I have not decided which party will I join as yet.”

Sources close to him said the veteran politician is likely to be a part of the newly-floated Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP), formed jointly by the All Assam Students” Union (AASU) and Asom Jatiyatabadi Yuva Chhatra Parishad (AJYCP).

 He has represented the Patacharkuchi constituency thrice.