Pabitra Margherita, Rwngwra Narzary Take Oath As Rajya Sabha MPs


Guwahati: Assam BJP and its ally party UPPL candidates Pabitra Gogoi Margherita and Rwngwra Narzary took oath as members of the Rajya Sabha on Monday.

Nagaland BJP’s candidate S Phangnon Konyak also took oath as a Member of Parliament in the upper House.

Rajya Sabha Chairman, M. Venkaiah Naidu administered the oath to the newly elected/nominated members of Rajya Sabha.

Meanwhile, congratulating both the Rajya Sabha MPs from Assam, Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma took to Twitter saying, “Heartiest congratulations Shri @PmargheritaBJP & Shri Rwngwra Narzary on being sworn in as Members of Rajya Sabha. With your wisdom & commitment to public service, I am sure you will raise the bar of debate in the Upper House, besides serving as the voice of the people of Assam.”

The two Rajya Sabha seats in Assam went to polls on April 31.

While Margherita won 46 votes, its UPPL ally, Rwngwra Narzary won 44 votes. Narzary is the president of UPPL, which has seven MLAs in the House.

On the other hand, the Congress couldn’t retain the seat and had to settle with 35 votes. Former Assam Congress president Ripun Bora was the Opposition parties’ joint candidate for the lone seat that they were contesting.

It may be mentioned that 12 opposition MLAs voted for the BJP candidates – seven from Congress and five from AIUDF. Each winning candidate needs at least 43 votes.