Oil India FC lift 66th Bordoloi Trophy


GUWAHATI, OCT 2: Oil India Football Club won the 66th Bharat Ratna Lokopriya Gopinath Bordoloi Trophy defeating ASEB Sports Club (ASEB SC) 3-0 in penelties after the two teams were tied 2-2 at the end of regulation and extra time in the final played under floodlights at the Nehru Stadium, Guwahati.

ASEB took the lead in the 10th minute of the match through Akrang Narzary. Oil India restored parity in injury time of the first half through Milan Basumatary with the scoreline reading 1-1 at the end of the first 45 minutes.

Oil India took the lead for the first time in the match when Sirandeep Moran scored in the 60th minute. It appeared as if Oil India FC will hold on to the 2-1 scoreline, the Guwahati outfit equalized in the dying minutes of the second half when Akrang Narzary netted for ASEB.

But ASEB SC had a disastrous show in the tie-breaker as Maneswar Mushahary, Akrang Narzary and Jwmbla Brahma missed their spot kicks while OIL players struck with vengeance, helping the Duliajan outfit lift the prestigious trophy.