NRC Face-off: TMC leaders detained at Silchar airport fly home


Six out of the eight Trinamool Congress leaders who had arrived in Silchar yesterday (Thursday) following express orders from their party chief and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee flew back to Kolkata this morning.

The eight-member delegation comprising six party MPs  — Sukhendu Sekhar Ray, Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar, Ratna De Nag, Nadimul Haque, Arpita Ghosh and Mamata Thakur — MLA Mohua Moitra and West Bengal minister Firhad Hakim were kept under preventive detention under Section 151 of CrPC (arrest to prevent the commission of cognisable offence) at Silchar airport after their arrival yesterday (Thursday).

The two others will leave for New Delhi this afternoon.

The TMC delegation had planned to meet people whose names were excluded from the NRC draft besides leaders of various groups and organizations during their two-day visit. However, considering the stand of the party that has been trying to spread canards and disturb law and order, they were detained inside the airport in Silchar.


Incidentally, members of the TMC delegation also clashed with police inside the airport with West Bengal MLA Mahua Moitra in particular seen assaulting a woman police officer despite the latter requesting her with folded hands to calm down.


Three policemen, including two women cops, suffered injuries during the scuffle.