Now, chairman MP Bezbaruah opts out of MHA committee


The Home Ministry’s move to form a high-level committee to look into the implementation of Clause 6 of the Assam Accord has struck a fresh roadblock with Madan Prasad Bezbaruah, former Telecom Secretary, opting out of the nine-member committee following similar decisions by former Assam Sahitya Sabha presidents Dr Nagen Saikia and Rongbong Terang and eminent educationist Dr Mukunda Rajbangshi who were named members of the committee constituted by the Ministry of Home Affairs.

Former bureaucrat Bezbaruah, who was named chairman of the nine-member committee in the notification issued by the Home Ministry on Jan 5, stated that he has written to the Home Ministry informing them of his decision to opt out of the committee.

Incidentally, Dr Nagen Saikia was the first member to opt out of the high-level committee with Rongbong Terang, another Sahitya Sabha president, and Mukunda Rajbangshi also announcing their decision to quit from the committee.



The committee, that was constituted under the chairmanship of retired bureaucrat MP Bezbaruah, also comprised retired IAS officer Subhash Das, former Assam Sahitya Sabha president Nagen Saikia, veteran journalist and former editor of ‘The Sentinel’ Dhiren Bezbaruah, educationalist Mukunda Rajbangshi, Advocate General of Assam Ramesh Borpatragohain, another former Sahitya Sabha president Rongbong Terang along with a representative of the All Assam Students’ Union (AASU) as members while the joint secretary in the Home Ministry was named member secretary.

The AASU, incidentally, rejected the committee and stated no member of the students’ body will be part of it.