Meghalaya: MDA wins lone Rajya Sabha seat


Shillong: Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) common candidate and National People’s Party (NPP) state president, WR Kharlukhi has won the lone Rajya Sabha seat in Meghalaya.

Kharlukhi defeated Congress candidate, Kennedy Khyriem by 20 votes. Voting for the lone Rajya Sabha seat in Meghalaya concluded on Friday afternoon.

Out of the total 59 votes which was polled, a total number of 39 votes polled in favour of Kharlukhi while a total number of 19 votes polled in favour of Khyriem. One vote was rejected.

Meanwhile, Chief Minister Conrad Sangma confirmed that National People’s Party candidate WR Kharlukhi has won from the Meghalaya Rajya Sabha seat.

Sangma tweeted, “Congratulations Dr WR Kharlukhi for being elected to the Rajya Sabha from Meghalaya. I thank all the MDA partners for bestowing their support to the National People’s Party.”

It may be mentioned that the term of the current Rajya Sabha MP from Meghalaya, Wansuk Syiem had ended on April 12.

The polls for the 19 Rajya Sabha seats across 8 states kickstarted from 9 am on Friday morning.

These include 4 seats each from Gujarat and Andhra Pradesh, 3 each from Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan, 2 from Jharkhand and 1 seat each from Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram.