Manipur: Former NPP president joins BJP along with 17 other party leaders


Guwahati: Ahead of the crucial by-poll in Manipur, former NPP president Thangminlien Kipgen along with 17 other NPP leaders joined the BJP on Tuesday.

The Former NPP president had contested the last parliamentary elections from Inner Manipur constituency. Kipgen has also served as a former chairman of Hill Area Committee four times consecutively from 50-Kangpokpi District.

The NPP leaders were accorded by Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh, BJP state president S Tikendra and BJP National Gen Secretary including MP from Assam Dilip Sakia in a programme held at the Chief Minister Darbar Hall.

Meanwhile, the 17 other NPP leaders include former working Prez Ch Ajang Khongsai, former VP Dr Ph Jilasana, former VP & Women Front Prez G Satyabarti Devi etc.