Manik Saha sworn in as Tripura CM for second term


Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Manik Saha took oath as the Chief Minister of the state for the second consecutive term today.

The oath ceremony took place at Vivekananda Maidan in Agartala. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP chief JP Nadda, and several CMs of BJP-ruled states were present during the ceremony.

Eight more ministers, including Ratan Lal Nath, Pranajit Singha Roy, Santana Chakma, Tinku Roy and Bikash Debbarma were also sworn in by Governor Satyadeo Narain Arya.

In all, eight ministers from the BJP and one from its ally IPFT were inducted into the cabinet. Of these, five were new faces, while four ministers who were in the earlier cabinet found a place in the new line-up.

The BJP won 32 seats in the 60-member House in the recent assembly elections in Tripura, while its ally IPFT managed to secure one seat.

Manik Saha had been made chief minister earlier in 2022, replacing Biplab Kumar Deb, in a brand renewal exercise after it was found that his popularity rating was plummeting on account of the poor law and order situation in Tripura’s hinterland.