Lok Sabha Elections 2024: BJP’s Nitin Gadkari achieves hat-trick with victory from Nagpur


Union minister Nitin Gadkari on Tuesday won from the Nagpur Lok Sabha constituency for the third time in a row, defeating his nearest Congress rival by a margin of 1,37, 603 votes.

The senior BJP leader polled 6,55,027 votes against 5,17,424 votes received by Congress’ Vikas Thakre in 20 rounds of counting. BSP candidate Yogesh Lanjewar stood third with 19,242 votes, while 5,474 votes went to NOTA.

Gadkari has been holding power in this constituency since 2014. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Gadkari secured a triumph over Congress candidate Nana Patole, now the Maharashtra unit chief of the grand old party, with a margin of 2,16,000 votes.

Patole, formerly a BJP MP from the Bhandara-Gondia Lok Sabha seat, switched allegiance to Congress and contested against Gadkari. Despite this, Gadkari comfortably emerged victorious with 6,60,221 votes, while Patole garnered 4,44,212 votes.