Kiara Advani, Kriti Sanon and AP Dhillon set stage on fire at opening ceremony of Women’s Premier League 2023


Guwahati: Bollywood actors Kiara Advani, Kriti Sanon and Punjabi singer and rapper AP Dhillon owned the stage with their performances as the Women’s Premier League got off to a star-studded start.

Host Mandira Bedi kicked off the celebrations ahead of the historic edition of the WPL. Kiara Advani took the centre stage with her impactful dance performance at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai, before Kriti Sanon put up another superb dance show.

AP Dhillon then performed on his hit songs before all the three stars together took to stage to end the grand show on a high. After this, all the five captains of the teams were called on stage and the WPL trophy was unveiled. In the first match of the tournament, Mumbai Indians face Gujarat Giants.

Kriti Sanon also graced the stage. She performed the hook step from her dance number Thumkeshwari from her last film, Bhediya. The film also starred Varun Dhawan. Kriti wore a neon lehenga with a shimmery silver top as she packed a punch with her energetic dance moves.

Kiara Advani arrived in a shimmery pink costume with silver boots and matched steps to singer Hardy Sandhu’s Kyaa Baat Haii 2.0. It is originally from her film Govinda Naam Mera, in which she starred alongside Vicky Kaushal. The video of her performance has been shared by the official Twitter handle of WPL.

Singer-rapper AP Dhillon entertained the audience with his hit tracks. In a video, he is seen walking towards the stage while singing his all-time favourite song Brown Munde. He sported an all-black look while delivering an electrifying performance, surrounded by background dancers in blue costumes. The video also featured fans at the stadium cheering him during his performance.

All three stars remained on stage when Mandira Bedi, the host, joined them. Mandira called the BCCI officials, Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) President Roger Binny, Vice-President Rajeev Shukla, Secretary Jay Shah, Treasurer Ashish Shelar and IPL Chairman Arun Dhumal, and captains of all five teams, Smriti Mandhana (Royal Challengers Bangalore), Harmanpreet Kaur (Mumbai Indians), Meg Lanning (Delhi Capitals), Beth Mooney (Gujarat Giants) and Alyssa Healy (UP Warriorz) on stage. This was followed by the unveiling of the trophy.

The Women’s Premier League 2023 will have a total of 20 league matches and two Playoff games that will be played within a duration of 23 days. It started on Saturday at Navi Mumbai’s Stadium with a clash between Gujarat Giants and Mumbai Indians. The Final of WPL will be played at the Brabourne Stadium on 26th March.