Karnataka assembly election 2023: Voting to be held on 10 May, result on 13 May


The Karnataka Assembly election is scheduled to be held on May 10 and the results will be announced on May 13, said the Election Commission of India on Wednesday.

The election will be held for all 224 assembly constituencies.

The Congress party announced its first list of 124 candidates on March 25. Former Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah will contest from Varuna and Karnataka Congress president DK Shivakumar will contest from Kanakapura constituency.

Siddaramaiah said this would be his last election and after this, he will stay away from electoral politics.

Earlier on March 20, the Aam Aadmi Party on March 20 also released its first list comprising 80 candidates. The party has said it will field candidates in all the 224 Assembly constituencies in the state.

The tenure of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly is scheduled to end on May 24, 2023.

The previous assembly elections in the state were held in May 2018.