IPL 2024, MATCH 1: RCB vs CSK, It Still Is ‘Dhoni Vs Kohli’!


Defending champions Chennai Super Kings are all set to begin their IPL 2024 season on March 22 when they take on Faf du Plessis-led Royal Challengers Bangalore at MA Chidambaram Stadium.

MS Dhoni vs Virat Kohli. Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bengaluru. It seemed to be the ideal curtain-raiser for a party that would go on for two months.

Kohli makes a comeback after a two-month break from international cricket, missing India’s recent series against England due to the birth of his second child.

A day ahead of the tournament to begin, legendary cricketer Mahendra Singh Dhoni handed over the skipper baton of CSK to Ruturaj Gaikwad.

The announcement was made official by the CSK via their social media handle. It wrote, “OFFICIAL STATEMENT: MS Dhoni hands over captaincy to Ruturaj Gaikwad.”

CSK and RCB have played 31 matches so far with each other, where CSK won 20 and RCB won 10. One match ended with no result. Apart from this, CSK won 46 IPL matches played at MA Chidambaram and lost 18 matches.

The MA Chidambaram stadium is known for providing an extra edge to spinners. But, chasing has been difficult at Chepauk, with the pitch tending to slow down during the second half.

It is expected to be a clear sky with no chance of rain. So, the  weather is unlikely to influence the proceedings of the match.

The CSK Vs RCB IPL 2024 Match 1 will be played at MA Chidambaram Stadium (Chepauk) in Chennai at 8 pm (IST) on 22 March.

The CSK Vs RCB IPL 2024 Match 1 will be broadcast on the Star Sports Network in India.

The CSK Vs RCB IPL 2024 Match 1 will be streamed live on the JioCinema app and its website.



 MS Dhoni, Moeen Ali, Deepak Chahar, Devon Conway, Tushar Deshpande, Shivam Dube, Ruturaj Gaikwad (captain), Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Ravindra Jadeja, Ajay Mandal, Mukesh Choudhary, Matheesha Pathirana, Ajinkya Rahane, Shaik Rasheed, Mitchell Santner, Simarjeet Singh, Nishant Sindhu, Prashant Solanki, Mahesh Theekshana, Rachin Ravindra, Shardul Thakur, Daryl Mitchell, Sameer Rizvi, Mustafizur Rahman, Avanish Rao Aravelly.


 Faf Du Plessis (captain) Rajat Patidar, Virat Kohli, Anuj Rawat, Dinesh Karthik, Suyash Prabhudessai, Will Jacks, Saurav Chauhan, Glenn Maxwell, Mahipal Lomror, Karn Sharma, Cameron Green, Swapnil Singh, Mayank Dagar, Manoj Bhandage, Akash Deep, Alzarri Joseph, Lockie Ferguson, Mohammad Siraj, Yash Dayal, Tom Curran, Reece Topley, Himanshu Sharma, Rajan Kumar, Vyshak Vijay Kumar.