IPL 2022: MS Dhoni steps down as CSK captain; Hands Over Reins To Ravindra Jadeja


Guwahati:  In a big development just days ahead of the IPL 2022 season opener, MS Dhoni, who has been the skipper of the CSK franchise since the league’s inception in 2008, has stepped down from his role, handing over the mantle of CSK’s captaincy to all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja.

Jadeja, who has been an integral part of Chennai Super Kings since 2012, will only be the third player to lead CSK.

Dhoni will continue to represent Chennai Super Kings this season and beyond.

Dhoni, who has been the CSK captain since the league’s inception in 2008, could be playing in his last IPL this season. He has already retired from international cricket.

CSK have won the IPL title four times (in 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021), only behind Mumbai Indians and have the highest win percentage of matches among all teams in the IPL (64.83%).