India thrash Australia in first Test to take 1-0 series lead 


A convincing win for India in Nagour as they register an innings and 132 runs win to go 1-0 up in the series.

Wickets fell like nine pins for Australia with the opener Usman Khawaja bites the dust. Rohit Sharma handed the new ball to Mohammed Shami, who bowled three overs. It was Ashwin who dismissed Khawaja and Jadeja followed it up by trapping Labuschagne plumb in front. Ashwin removed the pack of left-handed batters on this day and it was just Steve Smith who was holding one side. From David Warner to Matt Renshaw, and Peter Handscomb to Alex Carey, everyone bowed down before the wittiness of Ashwin. Ashwin bagged a fifer after almost the gap of two years and 21 innings.

Earlier, Australia had chosen to bat first and could collect only 177 runs on the board. Jadeja finished off with a fifer, he was ably supported by Ashwin, who bags three wickets. Marnus Labuschagne and Steve Smith were the only notable contributors for the visiting team. In reply, India had built 400 runs in the first innings with captain Rohit Sharma scoring a century. Jadeja (70) and Axar(84) notched up half-centuries and boosted the total to the 400 runs mark. Shami played a superb cameo. For Australia, off-spinner Todd Murphy was the pick of the bowlers with 7/124.

Brief Scores

Australia 1st innings: 177 and 2nd innings: 91 all out in 32.3 overs (Ravichandran Ashwin 5/37).

India 1st innings: 400 all out in 139.3 overs (Rohit Sharma 120, Axar Patel 84, Ravindra Jadeja 70; Todd Murphy 7/124)

Our senior cricket writer Sandip G is covering the game from Nagpur stadium.