In BJP reshuffle, Assam’s Dilip Saikia appointed National General Secretary


GUWAHATI: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Saturday announced reshuffle in its party office bearers. Lok Sabha MP from Assam’s Mangaldoi constituency Dilip Saikia has made into the list as one of the national general secretaries.

The new appointments were announced by BJP president JP Nadda in a reorganisation that party sources had said was aimed at combining young people, women as well as experienced faces.

Among the prominent changes was the appointment of Tejasvi Surya, an MP from Karnataka, as president of the youth wing Yuva Morcha in place of Poonam Mahajan.

The party increased the number of national spokespersons to 23 with MP Anil Baluni retaining the position of media in-charge and elevated as chief spokesperson.

The new spokespersons include Rajeev Chandrasekhar, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Sanju Verma, Iqbal Singh Lalpura, Aparajita Sarangi, Heena Gavit, M Kikon, Nupur Sharma, Raju Bisht and KK Sharma.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi welcomed the changes on Twitter.

“Congratulations and best wishes to the new team. I am confident they will uphold the glorious tradition of our Party of serving the people of India selflessly and with dedication. May they work hard to empower the poor and marginalised,” PM tweeted.