Imran Khan formally elected new Pak PM


It’s now official. Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chairman Imran Khan will take oath as the new Prime Minister of Pakistan tomorrow (Aug 18) after he was formally elected to the top post by lawmakers of the country. The cricketer-turned politician defeated Shahbaz Sharif in a one-sided contest after the grand opposition alliance fell apart over the PML-N chief’s nomination for the top post.

The election in the 15th National Assembly became just a formality after the Pakistan People’s Party led by Bilawal Bhutto Zardari with 54 seats abstained from voting.

65-year-old Imran Khan secured 176 votes while his only rival and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz chief Sharif got 96 votes.

(With inputs from PTI)