Gehlot, Kamal Nath take oath as Rajasthan, MP CMs


Ashok Gehlot and Kamal Nath on Monday (Dec 17) took oath as the Chief Ministers of Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh respectively. In Rajasthan, Gehlot was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Kalyan Singh while Sachin Pilot was sworn in as the Deputy Chief Minister.

Congress president Rahul Gandhi, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, other Opposition leaders, outgoing chief minister Vasundhara Raje Scindia and several other key personalities attended the swearing-in ceremony that was held at Albert Hall of Raj Bhavan, Jaipur.


On the other hand, Madhya Pradesh Governor Anandiben Patel administered the oath of office and secrecy to 72-year-old Kamal Nath in Bhopal. Besides Rahul Gandhi, former PM Manmohan Singh and several other Opposition leaders, Ashok Gehlot and Rajesh Pilot also attended the swearing-in ceremony of Kamal Nath.

The Congress had unseated the BJP governments in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh in elections held in November and December and the results declared on Dec 11.