Five out of eight states in NE coronavirus-free now, says Jitendra Singh


Guwahati: The DoNER Ministry said that five out of the eight states in the Northeast are corona-free now. He said that the five states are – Sikkim, Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur and Tripura.

The three states in the region – Assam, Meghalaya and Mizoram – are not corona-free but there have been no new positive cases in these states in the recent past.

DoNER Minister Jitendra Singh credited the low incidence of cases in the North-east to the way the Government of India under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi has given priority to the region’s development in the past six years.

Singh further said that even during this emergency, the way the air cargo was operational in bringing supplies to the region, there was no shortage in the area of essential goods.

Singh informed that Prime Minister Modi had sent out a clear directive that the North-East, Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh and island areas of the country be given priority.

Singh further pointed out that the DoNER Ministry has made available a fund amounting to Rs 25 crore for the State Governments of the region even before the lockdown was imposed.