First time MLA Bhajan Lal Sharma named new Rajasthan CM


GUWAHATI, Dec 12: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Tuesday sprang another surprise by picking Bhajan Lal Sharma as the new chief minister of Rajasthan.

Former chief minister Vasundhara Raje, who was among the frontrunners for the post, proposed Sharma’s name in the meeting of BJP’s legislature party held in the presence of Union Defence Minister Rajnath Singh who was overseeing the selection of the new chief minister as the central observer.

Sharma, incidentally, is a first time MLA and won from Sanganer constituency defeating Congress’s Pushpendra Bhardwaj by a margin of 48,081 votes.

He had earlier served the party as a general secretary for four terms.

Diya Kumari and Prem Chand Bairwa were named Deputy Chief Ministers.

Former minister Vasudev Devnani was nominated for the assembly speaker’s post.