Dr Nagen Saikia quits MHA committee


Former Assam Sahitya Sabha president Dr Nagen Saikia has quitted from the high-level committee formed by the Home Ministry to look into implementation of Clause 6 of the Assam Accord.

The Home Ministry constituted the high-level committee following the union cabinet’s decision on Jan 2 to approve its formation so as to implement Clause 6 of the Assam Accord.


The committee was constituted under the chairmanship of retired bureaucrat MP Bezbaruah while retired IAS officer Subhash Das, former Assam Sahitya Sabha president Nagen Saikia, veteran journalist and former editor of ‘The Sentinel’ Dhiren Bezbaruah, educationalist Mukunda Rajbangshi, Advocate General of Assam Ramesh Borpatragohain, another former Sahitya Sabha president Rongbong Terang, a representative of the All Assam Students’ Union (AASU) along with the joint secretary in the Home Ministry were named members.

The AASU, incidentally, rejected the committee and stated no member of the students’ body will be part of it.