Parties gear-up for BTC Polls


GUWAHATI: Political parties and organisations in Bodoland areas have started gearing up for the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) polls to be held sometime in mid-April.

Meanwhile, the Assam Election Commission has started all the procedures for the smooth conduct of the electoral process in the BTC area. The newly-elected party will have to take charge as the incumbent BPF government’s term will come to an end on 28th April 2020.

On 6th February, Election Commission released the first draft voters’ list and all the required processes, including correction, inclusion and omission is underway at the moment.

The final voters’ list will be released on 5th March and according to sources the elections will be conducted in the second week of April. 

Apart from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Congress and Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) all major parties and organizations like Bodoland People’s Front (BPF), All Bodo Students Union (ABSU), National Democratic Front of Bodoland (NDFB), United People’s Party, Liberal (UPPL), Gana Suraksha Party have started political debates keeping in mind the upcoming BTC election.

As the war of words continues between Hagrama Mohilary and Pramod Bodo (ABSU), NDFB leader Govinda Basumatary has entered this domain by stating that Hagrama will be ousted in the BTC polls as people are unhappy with his performance.

BPF Chief, Hagrama Mohilary recently announced that his party along with BJP and AGP will be contesting in 40 seats. BPF has already declared candidates’ list for 15 constituencies. Accordingly, UPPL along with ABSU and NDFB will also contest for the 40 seats.

Kokrajhar Member of Parliament Naba Sarania’s party Gana Suraksha Party is also a force to reckon with in the BTC elections.