BJP releases list of 17 candidates for Assam elections, full list here


GUWAHATI: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday released a list of 17 candidates for the third phase of Assam assembly elections.

Addressing a press conference, BJP National General Secretary Arun Singh said, “In Assam, BJP will contest on 92 seats and on rest of the seats, our partner parties will contest. We are releasing the names of 17 candidates for the third phase of elections. Chandra Mohan Patowary will contest from Dharmapur seat.”

Chanbdra Mohan Patowary is a minister in Sarbananda Sonowal’s cabinet. Another minister Siddhartha Bhattacharya also got party ticket from the East Guwahati constituency.

The party has fielded Atul Bora and Suman Haripriya in Dispur and Hajo respectively. Another sitting MLA—Narayan Deka has got ticket from his present seat—Barkhetri.

Here is the full list: