Bhupendra Patel to take over as 17th Gujarat CM today


Gandhinagar: First-term MLA Bhupendra Patel will be sworn in Gujarat chief minister on Monday, two days after Vijay Rupani’s surprise exit from the post, a year ahead of the Assembly polls.

Patel (59), who was unanimously elected BJP legislature party leader on Sunday, will be sworn in as the state’s 17th chief minister at 2.20 pm, an official said.

The party’s CM choice came as a surprise for many as the low-profile, first-time legislator was not seen to be among the top contenders for the post.

Only Patel will take the oath on Monday and a decision regarding the new Gujarat cabinet will be taken later, party sources said.

Gujarat Governor Acharya Devvrat on Sunday invited Patel to take oath as chief minister. “The new leader of BJP’s Legislature Party Bhupendrabhai Patel presented a proposal to form the government under his leadership. Accepting the proposal, he was invited to take oath as CM on September 13 at 2.20 pm,” tweeted the Governor.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah is expected to attend the swearing-in ceremony. I believe that under the guidance of Narendra Modi, the state’s sustainable development will keep up its momentum, Shah tweeted.

Modi phoned Patel on Sunday and congratulated him, a BJP spokesperson said.

Born in Ahmedabad, Patel is an MLA from the Ghatlodia seat, previously held by former chief minister and now Uttar Pradesh Governor Anandiben Patel. He won the seat by over 1.17 lakh votes in 2017, the highest margin in that poll. Ghatlodia is part of the Gandhinagar Lok Sabha constituency represented by Shah.