Assam polls: We will win all 12 seats in BTR, says Hagrama Mohilary


GUWAHATI: The Congress-led grand alliance will win all the 12 assembly seats in the Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR), said Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) president Hagrama Mohilary on Tuesday. Mohilary’s party has recently joined heads with the grand alliance to contest the Assam assembly polls. 

“We will win all the 12 seats under the BTC,” said Mohilary.

He also claimed that 12 existing BJP MLAs will be defeated in the first phase of Assam assembly elections.

“Twelve BJP MLAs will be defeated and Congress will win in these seats. It is my capacity,” the BPF chief said.

On the other hand, the former BTC chief termed the Pramod Boro-led new council as illegal.

BJP, UPPL and Gana Shakti Party (GSP) had formed the new BTC and in the recent BTC elections BJP won 9 seats, BPF bagged 17 seats, United Peoples’ Party Liberal (UPPL) won 12 seats and one each was won by Congress and Gana Shakti Party (GSP) led by Kokrajhar MP Naba Kumar Sarania.