Assam polls: Congress still unsure about West Guwahati candidate


GUWAHATI: The Congress party is yet to finalise its candidate for the West Guwahati constituency for the Assam assembly elections. West Guwahati will go to polls on April 6 in the third phase. The process of filing nominations for the third phase already started and it will end on March 19.

While, incumbent AGP MLA Ramendra Narayan Kalita’s name has almost been finalised as the joint candidate of the BJP-led alliance, the Congress is still unsure about its candidate for the seat.

Ten aspirants have applied for the Congress ticket in the West Guwahati constituency. They are—former MP Dwijen Sharma, ST cell leader Lakshman Rabha, singer Babu alias Kumud Barua, Ramen Borthakur, Deb Kumar Barman, Bandeep Dutta, Naba Kumar Deka, Raja Das, Ratan Boro and Abhijit Majumdar.

Dr. Jury Sharma Bordoloi, the Congress candidate in 2016 elections did not apply for the ticket. While Dr. Jury Sharma Bordoloi got 43 thousand votes, AGP candidate Ramendra Narayan Kalita claimed victory with 1.33 lakh votes.

On the other hand, former MLA Hemanta Talukdar who had contested as an independent candidate after being denied the Congress ticket got only 12,500 votes.