Assam Polls: AGP-BJP ready to let go occupied MLA seats for each other


Guwahati: The Asom Gana Parishad and Bharatiya Janata Party seat-sharing for the upcoming Assam Election Assembly is likely to be completed by early March and both the parties are ready to leave seats for each other.

Meanwhile, a meeting between the top leaders of the AGP and the BJP has been held after senior state minister Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma made a clear statement on the issue of seat-sharing. In this meeting, both the parties have almost reached an agreement on sharing of seats.

According to party sources, AGP has already submitted a list of 40 seats to the BJP for the forthcoming Assembly elections.

The list includes 14 constituencies held by AGP and 22 other constituencies rejected by the party in the 2016 elections, as well as four other constituencies where AGP is likely to win. The seat sharing will now be finalized after discussions with the BJP’s national and state leadership. A number of informal discussions have already been held between the BJP state leadership and the AGP leadership on seat-sharing.

BJP might leave 3 seats for AGP if the party is ready to leave their 6 seats and vice versa. So in that case both the parties are ready to leave their seats for each other.

It is to be noted that the election day of Assam Assembly is likely to be announced this month.

Recently, Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal and Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma have met AGP President Atul Bora and AGP Executive President Keshab Mahanta over seat sharing. The BJP has already demanded Naharkatiya, Dergaon, Tezpur, Patacharkuchi, Kamalpur and West Guwahati constituencies that were won by AGP in 2016.

Similarly AGP has also demanded Hajo, Palasbari, Biswanath, Batadrava , Raha and Sarupathar  that BJP won in 2016.