Assam: MP Jitendra Singh appointed as the new In-charge of the APCC


Guwahati: Former Union Minister and Member of Parliament from Alwar Jitendra Singh, has been appointed as the In-charge of the Assam Pradesh Congress Committee on Friday.

Singh had previously served as Minister of State for Home and Defense in the UPA Government and was also a Secretary in AICC.

Notably, Jitendra Singh has replaced Harish Rawat from the post. He is among few from members to get significant responsibilities in the Congress’ major reshuffle as its office-bearers.

A total of nine general secretaries have been appointment in the list issued by the Congress.

Meanwhile, Tarun Gogoi has again bagged the membership of CWC whereas his son Gaurav Gogoi’s name was missing from the permanent invitees list.

While All India Mahila Congress President and former Silchar MP Sushmita Dev’s name has been included in permanent invitees list of CWC.

On Friday evening, Congress President Sonia Gandhi appointed new general secretaries and heads of the All India Congress Committee.