Assam Elections: Ripun Bora to contest from Gohpur


GUWAHATI: Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) president Ripun Bora will contest the assembly election from the Gohpur constituency.

The Congress on Saturday released the first list of candidates for 40 seats.

According to the list, Debabrata Saikia will contest from Nazira. Former minister Rakibul Hussain got ticket for Samaguri. 

MLA Rupjyoti Kurmi also got ticket to contest the poll from Mariani. He has been winning the seat since 2006.

On the other hand, the party has not named yet its candidate for the Titabor constituency which was held by former chief minister Tarun Gogoi.