Assam elections: List of 21 ‘Almost final’ Congress candidates


GUWAHATI: The Congress party has almost finalised the candidates for 21 constituencies which would go for polls in the first phase of Assam assembly elections.

The party has finalised the candidature of former minister Rakibul Hussain from Samaguri. Hussain will contest for the seat for the fifth time.

On the other hand, MLA Rupjyoti Kurmi will be in the fray for the fourth time in Mariani.

According to sources, Saurpathar MLA Roselina Tirkey will get the party ticket again for the same constituency.

The ticket of former minister Bismita Gogoi has been finalised for the Khumtai constituency.

Former Jorhat MLA Rana Goswami will also get party ticket.

Other candidates whose tickets have been finalised include—Ankita Dutta for Amguri, Debabrata Saikia for Nazira, Suruj Dihingia for Mahmora, Sushanta Borgohain for Thaora, Bhupen Bora for Bihpuria, Jayprakash Das for Lakhimpur, Bharat Narah for Dhakuakhana, Pranjal Ghatowar for Moran, Prithbi Majhi for Lahowal, Dhrubajyoti Gogoi for Duliajan, Atowa Munda for Tingkhong, Pranati Phukan for Naharkatia, Raju Sahu for Chabua, Durga Bhumij for Dumduma and Gautam Dhanowar for Digboi.