Assam Elections 1st phase: Tribal voters to play key role in 8 seats, Muslims in 4


GUWAHATI: Among the total 47 constituencies which will go to the polls in the first phase of Assam assembly elections, voters from scheduled tribes (ST) will play a key role in 8 seats.

These constituencies are mostly inhabited by ST voters. Among the total voters in Jonai, 77 per cent voters belong to the ST category. Therefore, the result of Jonai in the upcoming election will largely depend on these tribal voters.

While Dhakuakhana has 44 per cent tribal voters, Dhemaji, Majuli, Gohpur, Sootea, Bihpuria, Lakhimpur have 36 per cent, 43 per cent, 29, 26, 20 and 20 per cent ST voters respectively.

The ST voters are predominantly comprised of Misings, Bodos and Sonowal Kacharis.

On the other hand, there are considerable ST population in Biswanath, Dhekiajuli, Borchala, Bokakhat, Sarupathar and Kaliabor which will go to the polls in first phase on March 27.

Meanwhile, Muslim voters play the most dominant role in Dhing, Batadrava, Rupahihat and Samaguri.

Ninety per cent voters of Dhing constituency are Muslims. There are 47 per cent Muslim voters in Batadrava. Rupaphihat constituency has 81 per cent Muslim voters.  Similarly, there are 41 per cent Muslim voters in Samaguri.

Therefore, the Muslim voters are deciding factors in these four constituencies of middle Assam.

On the other hand, Nepalis, Hindi and Bengali-speaking voters are dominant factors in Dibrugarh, Tinsukia and Margherita.

There are 27 per cent Bengali Hindus, 15 per cent Hindi-speaking and 4 per cent Nepali voters in Tinsukia.

Dibrugarh has 26 per cent Bengali Hindus and 11 per cent Hindi-speaking voters.

Margherita has a significant number of Nepali voters. There are 15 per cent Nepali voters, 14 per cent Bengali Hindus and 3 per cent Hindi-speaking voters in this constituency.

The Nepali, Hindi and Bengali-speaking voters have major influence at least in 8 constituencies.

Photo by Glen Carrie on Unsplash