Assam Election 2021: Congress teams up with anti-CAA groups, readies secret list of 91 candidates


Guwahati: With only 9 months remaining for the next assembly elections in Assam, the ruling party Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has started its election planning and public outreach programmes to win 100 seats. BJP leaders are meeting general public from different sections of the society with its Jan Sampark programme.

On the other hand, opposition party Congress knows that it cannot defeat or even give a good fight to BJP if it goes solo in this election. According to reports the party is trying to cobble an alliance with most of the anti-CAA groups. These include: Badruddin Ajmal’s AIUDF, former Assam CM Prafulla Kumar Mahanta, Dr. Jayanta Rongpi and actress Barsha Rani Bishaya.

Assam Congress came up with this battle plan during the lockdown period. As per reports the oldest political party has come out with a secret list of candidates for 91 seats for the Assam Assembly Elections 2021.

According to a Congress source, the list of candidates will be finalized only after a formal meeting between all the parties. The Congress has recently prepared the list of candidates on the basis of an exchange of views with leaders of these parties. For now, the Congress high command has not given any sort of approval to this arrangement.

According to the source, AIUDF leader, Badruddin Ajmal, MP from Dhubri constituency, is expected to contest the forthcoming elections with the aim of forming a Congress-led government in Assam. Ajmal will nominate his son Abdur Rahim Ajmal from Jamunamukh LAC (Legislative Assembly Constituency).

The Congress is planning to not put any candidate in Barhampur LAC against former Chief Minister Prafulla Kumar Mahanta, who is opposed to the state BJP government over the citizenship act even though the AGP is a ruling partner of the Sarbananda Sonowal-led BJP.

In the same vein, the Congress will leave the Diphu LAC to Dr. Jayanta Rongpi. After Ajit Kumar Bhuyan–one of the leaders of the anti-CAA movement–was sent to the Rajya Sabha, the Congress now plans to rope in actress Barsha Rani Bishaya. The Congress wants to project Barsha Rani from Raha LAC or Jagiroad LAC as an independent candidate. It seems that the actress will decide among these two constituencies.

On the other hand Ripun Bora, president of the Assam Pradesh Congress Committee won’t be contesting from his home constituency Gohpur. Rather he has projected his wife Monica Bora for the constituency. It seems he will contest from Naoboicha this time.

In the same way, Nagaon Lok Sabha MP Pradyut Bordoloi nominated his wife Rani Bordoloi to contest from Margherita.

Former MLA of Dispur constituency Akon Bora has also refrained from contesting in the forthcoming elections and hence his son Manas Bora will contest from the Dispur constituency.