Assam Cricket Association Secretary Devajit Saikia inducted in BCCI


Guwahati: The Secretary of the Assam Cricket Association Devajit Saikia has been included in the seven-member BCCI committee.

The committee is formed to look into the compensation of the domestic cricketers who find themselves on a sticky wicket due to the financial sufferings triggered by COVID-19 in the last season.

The seven members committee composed of members from all six zones which included Devajit Saikia (North-East Zone), Mohammad Azharuddin and Santosh Menon (South Zone), Rohan Jaitley (North Zone), Avishek Dalmiya (East Zone), Jaydev Shah (West Zone) and Yudhvir Singh (Central Zone).

Saurashtra’s Jaydev Shah and UP’s Yudhvir Singh, who are also part of BCCI’s newly-formed working group for domestic cricket, believe that all age-group cricketers should be compensated for loss of games last season and not just Ranji players.

The committee has been tasked with finding a suitable way to compensate the domestic cricket players who had suffered financially in the previous season of 2020-21 due to the pandemic.

It is to be noted that BCCI, in the last season, could host only three domestic competitions – Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, Vijay Hazare Trophy and Womens Senior One Day Trophy.