Assam Cabinet forms committee to examine areas under encroachment


Guwahati: The Assam Cabinet has constituted a three-member committee to examine areas under encroachment and suggest measures to free such land from illegal settlers.

The committee will be headed by Amguri MLA, Pradip Hazarika, who has been accorded status of Cabinet minister, while Khumtai MLA, Mrinal Saikia and Nagaon MLA, Rupak Sarma are its members and accorded status of ministers of state.

The announcement was made after the Cabinet meeting, chaired by chief minister Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma, at the Bongaigaon deputy commissioner’s office on Wednesday.

Addressing a media conference, Sarma said the panel would examine and identify illegally occupied land, including encroached satra land, and submit a report after a year with suggestions to free such land from encroachment.

“A formidable team from the state revenue department will assist the committee during the survey,” the chief minister informed.

On the other hand, the state Cabinet approved the merger of the Board of Secondary Education Assam (SEBA) and Assam Higher Secondary Education Council (AHSEC) in order to fully implement the National Education Policy (NEP) 2020.