Assam By-Polls: Raijor Dal nominates Dhaijya Konwar from Thowra seat


GUWAHATI: Political parties in Assam are revving up for the soon to be held by-polls. On Thursday, Akhil Gogoi-led Raijor Dal announced its candidate for the Thowra seat. The regional party nominated Dhaijya Konwar, former General Secretary, Krishak Mukti Sangram Samiti to contest from Thowra.

“For the 107 Thowra Vidhan Sabha seat I am announcing the name of Dhaijya Konwar as Raijor Dal candidate,” stated Raijor Dal president and Sibasagar MLA Akhil Gogoi.

The Thowra seat was vacated after the resignation of Congress MLA Sushanta Borgohain who left the grand old party to join the Bharatiya Janata Party. Sushanta joined BJP on 1 August, citing the existing political crisis in the state unit APCC.

In the 2021 Assam Legislative Assembly elections, Sushanta had defeated BJP candidate Kushal Duwori.